The Writers Circle

creative writing community, craft and inspiration

Creativity Needs Time

clockOK, here I go again with the writer’s perfect gift. It is, this year, every year, forever and always, simply time. I wrote about it a couple of years ago, and I still cannot stress enough how absolutely true it is. But last time I suggested we ask for time from others. This time, I’m talking about giving it to ourselves.

I found this terrific little video that demonstrates this message more perfectly than I can:

Creativity requires time to muddle, time to mull, time to take root, time to grow, time to bloom. As much as we all want the satisfaction of results, those results can only be realized to their fullest with playful exploration and patience. A deadline might pressure us to complete the task. But the result might well be shoddy, a rough sketch (as in the video). Let go of the deadline to usher in the nurturing, creative mind-space that will bring forth our best work.

This season, and always, give your work the gift of time. To write. To play. And yes, eventually, to finish.

About Judith

Judith Lindbergh's latest novel, Pasture of Heaven, is about a nomad woman warrior on the Central Asian steppes in the 5th century BCE. (And there really were!) Her first novel, The Thrall's Tale, is a literary historical novel about three women in the first Viking Age settlement in 10th century Greenland. The Thrall's Tale was a Booksense Pick and a Borders Original Voices selection. Judith is also the founder and director of The Writers Circle, a creative writing program offering workshops for children and adults.

4 comments on “Creativity Needs Time

  1. Darlene
    December 21, 2011

    This is perfect! Love the video. Time is the most precious gift and those of us creative types appreciate it most. I wish you a happy holiday season and most of all, I wish you time! Thanks for subscribing to my blog,
    Darlene

  2. Judith
    December 21, 2011

    My pleasure. Looking forward to more sharing across the web. Happy holidays.

  3. Donna Martin
    December 22, 2011

    Thanks, Judy, for the nice post. I had seen that video before and I agree…I just wish my time slots for all the different levels of creativity would all happen at the same time so I could actually finish what I start in a relatively short amount of time…lol…

    • Judith
      December 22, 2011

      So true! Whether we’re working on one big project or several, or if we simply have too many other obligations, it’s hard. My teacher Madeleine L’Engle used to say 1/2 an hour a day can be enough. You just have to carve out and dedicate the time.

Leave a comment

The Writers Circle
Copyright © The Writers Circle, LLC Contact us for permission to reprint or reuse.